Last updated 5 months ago
If you’ve been in a car accident and are seeking compensation from the other party, your attorney will need to prove that the other driver was at fault for the accident. In order to do this, your auto accident lawyer will seek to persuade a judge or jury that the driver who caused the accident was negligent and ignored his or her legal responsibilities behind the wheel. To help you assess your case, here is a look at some of the legal duties that each driver has.
Safely Operate a Vehicle
Not only is it hazardous to drive with the intent to harass, intimidate, injure, or obstruct another person while driving, it is also illegal in the state of Virginia. In order to prove that someone was aggressively operating a vehicle at the time of your accident, the records or your lawyer must prove that the driver was driving on the wrong side of the highway, following too closely, passing on the right, speeding, or disobeying traffic control devices.
Pay Attention to the Road
In Virginia, every driver has a duty to pay attention to the road. For this reason, distracted driving is illegal in the state and can automatically cause fault for a crash. A statewide cell phone ban is in effect for school bus drivers and novice drivers under the age of 18. All drivers, regardless of age or the type of vehicle, are banned from text messaging while driving.
Possess a Driver’s License
In order to operate a vehicle in the United States, a person must possess a driver’s license. In Virginia, intermediate drivers are forbidden from driving between midnight and 4 a.m. Intermediate drivers are also restricted from carrying more than three passengers under the age of 21. When a driver reaches 18 years old, he or she is given full driving privileges in the state of VA.
If you believe that a driver ignored his or her legal duties and in doing so caused an accident that you were involved in, contact the lawyers at the Auto Accident Law Firm of Kevin Paul Childers. Our auto accident lawyers deal specifically with auto accident law, and we can help you receive the financial compensation you deserve for your injuries. Call our auto accident lawyers at (703) 659-1536 to learn more.
Last updated 5 months ago
If someone hits you from behind, the driver of the car that crashed in to you is almost always at fault, regardless of the reasons you stopped. Traffic laws require that drivers be able to safely stop if a vehicle in front of them comes to a stop. If the driver cannot stop in time to avoid rear-ending you, he or she is not driving safely and is therefore at fault for any damages and injuries resulting from the accident. If you are rear-ended and end up colliding with the vehicle in front of you, the driver who caused the accident is at fault.
To learn more about your legal rights after an accident, especially if you are your family was injured, contact the experienced attorneys at the Auto Accident Law Firm of Kevin Paul Childers. We have 20 years of experience practicing auto accident law in Woodbridge, VA. For additional information about our auto accident law firm, visit our website or call us at (703) 659-1536.
Last updated 5 months ago
Did you know that using your cellphone while driving increases your risk of being involved in an accident by as much as 400 percent? If you often drive with your family or friends, is a phone call or text message more important than their safety? Put your phone on silent, keep it out of reach, and pull over if you need to make a phone call. These tips aren’t complicated, but they could save your life. Watch this video from the Virginia Department of Health to learn more about the dangers of distracted driving.
Even if you take steps to avoid distracted driving, you can’t be sure that those around you will do the same. Fortunately, the auto accident attorneys here at the Auto Accident Law Firm of Kevin Paul Childers will fight for you if you or someone in your family is injured in an accident. We serve clients in Woodbridge, VA and the surrounding areas. In fact, we were named the #1 auto accident law firm in Prince William County. If you have questions, please call us at (703) 659-1536.
Last updated 6 months ago
Personal injury is a branch of law that deals with the mental or physical injuries that result from the negligence or harmful acts of others. Personal injury cases can cover a large spectrum of accidents, including automotive accidents. If you or someone you love has been injured in an auto accident, you may be able to sue them with the help of an experienced auto accident lawyer. Laws regarding personal injury claims vary from state to state, so here is a closer look at personal injury laws in Virginia.
Statute of Limitations
In Virginia, you only have two years to file a personal injury claim. However, you may still be able to file a claim if you were unaware of your injuries or if injuries developed after the statute of limitations expired. To ensure that you can properly file a personal injury claim, seek legal counsel with an experienced auto accident attorney immediately after a serious accident occurs.
Types of Damages
“Damages” refers to the financial compensation you can sue for following a personal injury caused by someone else’s negligence or carelessness. In Virginia, you may be able to sue for damages to cover past, current, and future medical expenses, lost wages (including lost future wages), property damage, permanent disabilities or disfigurements, emotional distress, and any other costs that were a direct result of your injury. Consult with an auto accident lawyer to determine what types of damages you may be eligible to recover.
Contributory Negligence Rule
Under the contributory negligence rule, you cannot recover damages if you did not exercise ordinary care for your own safety and were even a bit negligent in your accident. This is a complex rule, so be sure to discuss your case in detail with an auto accident attorney to determine the strength of your personal injury claim.
If you live Woodbridge, VA or the surrounding area, contact the Auto Accident Law Firm of Kevin Paul Childers. We were voted the #1 auto accident law firm in William County in 2012. Contact us online or call us at (703) 330-6300 to set up your initial consultation.
Last updated 7 months ago
According to the statistics, car accidents are the leading cause of death among teenagers. Teens simply don’t have as much experience or confidence as older drivers, which often causes them to make reckless driving decisions without even knowing it. Fortunately, you can teach your teen how to drive responsibly so he or she doesn’t become just another statistic. Keep these tips in mind when teaching your teen to drive, and contact an auto accident attorney if your son or daughter is ever injured behind the wheel as a result of the negligence or carelessness of others.
Teach by Example
Teens are very impressionable, so make sure to always practice what you preach when they are driving in the car with you. Always wear your seat belt, keep both hands on the wheel, obey the speed limit, and keep the radio at a moderate level. If you drive recklessly or forget to put your seatbelt on, don’t be surprised if your teen does the same.
Cover the Basics
When teaching your teen to drive, take plenty of time to cover the basics. Even if your teen wants to skip to freeway driving and defensive driving lessons, start slow and cover things like backing up, checking your blind spots, parallel parking, and what to do at a four-way stop. A good foundation of basic driving skills will make your teen a better driver overall, especially as they gain more experience and learn new skills.
Make a Parent-Teen Driving Agreement
Before you hand over the keys to your teen’s first car, make him or her sign a driving agreement that covers your expectations. Make clear rules regarding how many passengers can ride in the car, how far your teen can drive away from home, and how late your teen can operate a vehicle.
Even if your teen is a safe driver, other motorists on the road might not be as careful. If your son or daughter is injured in an accident, contact the Auto Accident Law Firm of Kevin Paul Childers. Our auto accident attorneys will fight aggressively to make sure your family gets the compensation you deserve for your child’s pain and suffering. For more information about our team of experienced auto accident lawyers in Woodbridge, VA, call us at (703) 330-6300.